Dr. C.D. Mote, Jr. - CoE Distinguished Speaker Series

Dr. C.D. Mote, Jr. is currently president of the National Academy of Engineering. He held an endowed chair in mechanical systems at Berkeley and chaired the Mechanical Engineering Department from 1987 to 1991. In 1998 Dr. Mote was recruited to the presidency of the University of Maryland, College Park, a position he held until 2010 when he was appointed Regents’ Professor. The NAE elected him to membership in 1988 and to the positions of Councilor, Treasurer, and President for a six-year term beginning July 1, 2013. Dr. Mote’s recognitions include the NAE Founders Award, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Medal, and the Humboldt Prize of the Federal Republic of Germany. He is an honorary fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, American Academy of Mechanics, Acoustical Society of America, and America Association for Advancement of Science.